Tribute to Lady Doak College

Saw the below image circulated in fb, lots of my friends shared it. Each time someone shares it I was reminded of  Lady Doak College. Don’t know what could have happened to me if  join LDC.

good-son

Before joining LDC I was a literal spoon fed baby. Everything will be taken care by my ever pampering patents and a lovely brother. Haven’t seen what life is. No hardships no tears not even smaller responsibility.

Dad put me in LDC because it is near his office and he could  just drop in if anything needed. On the second day of my college I found my pen missing. I just ringed my dad from the coin phone inside for a pen I could buy in the opposite shop. Yes, I was that irresponsible. What ever I do wrong my family will mend. And I happily enjoyed a privilege, without realize it as a privilege.

God put my in the hands of LDC, to prepare me for the much awaiting life. LDC taught me what a women’s life is and the struggle of millions of women for centuries to attain education for me now. I was seeded with social responsibility, made me strong and showed the whole I in myself.

Slowly I developed into a different person. From a parasitic state I moved to a interdependent life style. More assertive and ready to face the real life out of my ever pampering life. If I weren’t here I would have become nothing.

The storms blows hard

This is where I learnt

To still travel and do not break

 

The cocoon enclosed

This is where I learnt

to sew the wings and fly around

 

Life’s up or down

This is where I learnt

That I am I  and to stand firm

– A proud Doakian

Leave a comment

Filed under Women

Now what you say,